Connect with us


NYSC celebrates 14 retired directors for meritorious service



The National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) has commended 14 directors, who retired from service between January and March, for their selfless and meritorious service to the scheme and the nation at large.

The NYSC Director, Press and Public Relations, Mr Eddy Megwa, in a statement on Friday in Abuja, said that the Director-General of the scheme, Maj.- Gen. Shuaibu lbrahim, gave the commendation at a send off ceremony to honour the retirees.

lbrahim, who lauded them their commitment and dedication to the service of the nation, said that the scheme had every reason to celebrate and honour the senior citizens.

He said that their mentorship while in service had produced millions of youths who were now responsible adults in different vocations.

“On behalf of management, staff and youth corps members nationwide, l want to appreciate you senior citizens for your meritorious service to the NYSC in particular and the nation in general.

“You have mentored millions of youths and l can assure you that we will forever be grateful for your mentorship and service”, he said.

Ibrahim told the retirees not to be tired, adding that whenever the scheme called on them, they should make themselves available with their wealth of experiences.

He said that the scheme was expecting the establishment of NYSC Trust Fund and that the bill had passed through the House of Representatives.

The NYSC boss said that when assented to by the President, the services of the retirees would be needed.

Ibrahim also paid glowing tributes to a former Director of Finance and Accounts, Late Mr Dauda Daniel, who was represented by his son, Mr Bubwo Daniel for his commendable service to the scheme and the nation.

He admonished the retirees and serving NYSC staff to be mindful of their health status at all times and take their medications seriously.

In her remarks, the Director, Human Resource Management, Hajiya Habiba Bappah said the scheme decided to celebrate the retired directors for their invaluable impact to the nation while in service.

She commended them for shaping the character of Nigerian youths who passed through the scheme.

“It is certain that you will all be remembered for your positive contributions to the lives of young Nigerians who passed through the scheme.

“I wish to assure you that your labour will never be in vain as we shall continue to strive for the growth and development of the scheme.”

In a vote of thanks on behalf of all the retired directors, Mr Anthony Ekeocha commended the director-general for his passion and leadership style of administration which had taken the scheme to a higher pedestal.

He also lauded his magnanimity and the welfare-oriented gesture of celebrating them.

High point of the event was the presentation of plaques and gifts by the director-general.

The retirees are Anthony Ekeocha, Dauda Dauda (late), Tobias Ibeh, Yusuf Ehoda-Adi, Ann Ibe, Ruth Bakka, Okpiroro Abada, Adeola Afolayan, Teryima Igyuse, Mkinebari Adokor, Adenike Adeyemi, Olufunmilayo Akin-Moses, Solomon Ishaku and Hilary Nasamu.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.