Connect with us

metro news

Osinbajo sign N1.6billion to states damaged by flood



osinbajo_fellow press

Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo, has issued directive to Finance Minister, Kemi Adeosun, for the release of N1.6 billion to cater for 16 states affected by floods across the country.

The states are Ekiti, Osun, Akwa Ibom, Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia, Oyo, Lagos, Plateau, Sokoto, Edo and Bayelsa.

READ ALSO: State Assembly summons Commissioner of Environment over flooding in Kwara

Presidency spokesperson, Femi Adesina, disclosed this to journalists after the Federal Executive Council meeting, saying the fund is intended to cushion the effect of the damage caused by the floods in affected states.

His said, “The fund would be taken from the Federal Government’s Ecological Account in the Central Bank of Nigeria”.

Explaining further, Adesian said Finance Minister has been directed to release the said amount directly to the office of the National Emergency Management Agency for immediate disbursement to the states affected in the flood.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.